MKE Week 16A: Kindness

This week our mutual focus in the Franklin Makeover exercise is KINDNESS.  24/7 all week we are focused on acts which certainly come from a higher levels of consciousness.  Acts which demonstrate character of the highest order.

SH Simmons (biologist) is quoted: “Kindness is never wasted. If it has no effect on the recipient, at least it benefits the bestower.”  

It feels good to notice many of the acts of kindness of others that certainly have been occurring around me every day, without prior notice.

It is also one thing to know the power of being the giver conceptually, another to experience it.  Being intentionally observant not only of the kind acts of others, but also consciously looking for opportunities to inject a “random act of kindness” to others brightens my day.  I’m definitely seeing more good in the world than I normally noticed, as well as intentionally doing the little bit extra that is an offering to others.  Doing more of this is an enlightening experience.  Why would I every not want to feel this way everyday?

I now realize choosing to be kind and to notice the kindness of others is a choice.  Give more…get more.  (Certainly makes the senseless bickering going on with the Washington shutdown seem so shallow and childish).

kindness

Because we are masterminding the experience of mutual kindness this week, we are obligated to write down what we notice in a mutually shared journal.  In the 1st couple of days seems like there are over 1000 entries!  So much kindness being  expressed and being acknowledged.  What a wonderful exercise.  Reading about the kindness observations of others gives me so many ideas of times I could have expressed more myself.  I think I’ll double up on the requirements today.

Peace and prosperity be the journey, as the ripples in my wake continue to radiate.

9 thoughts on “MKE Week 16A: Kindness

  1. Love the quote, “Kindness is never wasted. If it has no effect on the recipient, at least it benefits the bestower.” It feels great to be the giver and even more to be aware of its effect on us. What a great focus for the week!

    Like

    1. I came up with the though of ripples week 1. I realize I’m responding to the concepts of others, but amplifying specific understanding of them, like a ripple in a pond, what I put out there can help others as well. It was kind of you to mention that you like the comment. Have a blessed day.

      Like

  2. I know! That Kindness Alliance page is blowing up! 🙂 It’s empowering to be part of such a positive movement–the world definitely feels more kind after reading through all those acts of kindness, both observed and performed!

    Like

Leave a comment